Motley Rice Logo

Practice Areas

Anti-Terrorism & Human Rights

Aviation

Environmental

Licensed In

DC, NJ, NY, PA, SC

Admitted to Practice Before

La Cour d'Appel des Troisième, Quatrième et Onzième Circuits

Tribunaux de Première Instance du District Est de New Jersey

Education

Juris Doctor, la Faculté de Droit de Rutgers University-Camden, 1989

Artium Baccalaureus, Rutgers University 1986

South Carolina

Robert T. Haefele
Associé

Robert T. Haefele

Robert Haefele a passé plus de vingt ans dans l'exercise de litige civil complexe, y compris l'amiante, le tabac et d'autres actes délictuels et le litige de masse de responsabilité du produit. Son secteur de concentration primaire de Motley Rice implique le travail de l'Anti-Terrorisme et un groupe de pratique sur les droits de l'homme, analysant les sujets complexes, domestiques et internationaux de contestation dans le but de servir les clients dans leur poursuite de justice et de responsabilité tout en simultanément réalisant le changement social positif.

Robert se focalise actuellement sur l'aide de plus de 6.500 membres de la famille et survivants des attaques terroristes, les familles de 9/11 que Motley Rice représente. Il est un membre actif de la Comité Directeur de Plaignants de Dommage Corporel et de Décès Imputable à une Faute en Re : Les Attaques Terroristes le 11 septembre 2001 , U.S.D.C., S.D.N.Y., MDL 1570, les procès classés par les clients de Motley Rice et d'autres cherchant à exposer et ruiner les financiers allégués et d'autres défenseurs d'activité terroriste d'Al-Quaida.

Robert joue également un rôle central dans En Re : Litige du 11 septembre, Affaire No. 21-MC-97-AKH (S.D.N.Y.), litige qui a fait participer plus de 50 clients de dommage corporel et de décès imputable à une faute contre les marchés des valeurs mobilières d'aviation et d'aviation pour leur manque allégué de détecter et d'empêcher les attaques terroristes de 9/11. Pour le litige multidistrict de financement des terroristes de 9/11 et de consolidations de masse des cas de responsabilité de sécurité d'aviation, Robert est apparu devant la cour pour des auditions multiples et des arguments oraux, a dirigé et s'est engagé dans la divulgation formelle complexe, et a fait les efforts investigateurs informels impliquant, notamment, la sécurité d'aviation, la désignation des personnes et des entités étrangères de terroriste, et les toiles élaborées des transactions financières.

En plus des efforts traditionnels de litige, Robert a fourni le soutien substantiel pro bono et tout autre appui aux survivants et aux familles de ceux tués dans les attaques de 9/11. À partir de 2001-2004, il a fourni la représentation pro bono pour plus de 30 personnes, préparant et présentant leurs réclamations aux Fonds de Compensation des Victimes du 11 septembre. Travaillant avec des clients de Motley Rice, les législateurs et les principaux experts dans diverses industries, Robert travaille également pour encourager les changements législatifs pour aider les clients dans leur but de justice, de responsabilité et de changement social positif.  Il a représenté des victimes d'autres attaques terroristes et violations de droits de l'homme dans le litige comprenant la Banque d'Arabe v. Oran Almog, un procès de point de repère classé par des victimes des bombardements terroristes en Israël contre la Banque Arabe pour son rôle allégué en finançant Hamas et d'autres organismes de terrorisme et Krishanti v. Rajaratnum et autres, 09 cv-5395 (D. New Jersey),le litige contre les financiers allégués de l'organisation Tigres deTamoule dans Sri Lanka.

Dans la représentation des clients de Motley Rice dans d'autres affaires de litige complexe, Robert a travaillé sur World Holdings LLC, v. La République Fédérale d'Allemagne, une procédure entamée pour rassembler les obligations impayées allemandes de l'avant guerre de la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale. Il a collaboré avec les membres du groupe de pratique des Valeurs de l'entreprise et le groupe de pratique en matière de la Fraude du Consommateur, plaidant des cas tels qu'En Re :La marée noire du derrick ? Deepwater Horizon ? dans le Golfe du Mexique le 20 avril, 2010. ? 

Avant de rejoindre Motley Rice en 2003, Robert a developé un rapport de co-conseil très fort avec des avocats de Motley Rice par le litige complexe impliquant l'injustice d'entreprise, y compris le procès du tabac de l'État de New Jersey et d'autres cas contre le tabac, l'amiante et la maladie professionnelle dans les cas de blessure. Exerçant en matière de la responsabilité du produt, de délit toxique et de l'acte délictuel collectif, et la loi professionnelle de blessure, il a représenté des personnes et des travailleurs syndiqués blessés par les produits défectueux ou par  les substances toxiques et il a écrit ? La Vérité Cachée Au Sujet de la Maladie d'Amiante ? dans la Revue Juridique De New Jersey (Décembre 2002). Il a travaillé comme l'assistant avec le Juge Neil F. Deighan de la Division D'Appel de la Cour Supérieure du New Jersey en 1990.

Robert est un membre de l'Association Américaine pour la Justice, le Barreau Américain, l'Association de New Jersey pour la Justice Publique. Il est un ancien président de la Responsabilité du Produit et de la Section d'Acte délictuel du Barreau d'État de New Jersey.

Motley Rice Logo

News

Arab Bank Liable: Jury finds Jordan-based bank liable for financing terrorist activity

September 22, 2014

Elite Trial Lawyers: Motley Rice named to inaugural National Law Journal list

September 09, 2014

WTC Health Program: New conditions added, making available treatment services for eligible members

February 10, 2014

Feared Plaintiffs Firms: Motley Rice named to inaugural Law360 Most Feared Plaintiffs Firms

October 24, 2013

Plaintiffs’ Hot List: The National Law Journal names Motley Rice to its 2013 list

October 24, 2013

Practice Areas

Anti-Terrorism & Human Rights

Aviation

Environmental

Licensed In

DC, NJ, NY, PA, SC

Admitted to Practice Before

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second, Third, Fourth and Eleventh Circuits

U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia, District of New Jersey and Southern District of New York

Education

J.D., Rutgers University School of Law - Camden, 1989

B.A., Rutgers College, 1986

South Carolina

Robert T. Haefele
Associate

Robert T. Haefele

Robert Haefele has spent more than twenty years practicing in complex civil litigation, including asbestos, tobacco and other mass tort and product liability litigation. His area of primary emphasis involves working with Motley Rice's anti-terrorism and human rights practice group, analyzing and litigating complex, domestic and international matters to meet clients' goals of justice and accountability while simultaneously achieving positive social change.

Robert's current focus is on aiding the more than 6,500 family members and survivors of the 9/11 terrorist attacks Motley Rice represents. He is an active member of the Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Plaintiffs' Steering Committee in In re Terrorist Attacks on September 11, 2001, U.S.D.C., S.D.N.Y., MDL 1570, lawsuits filed by Motley Rice's clients and others seeking to expose and bankrupt the alleged financiers and other supporters of al Qaeda terrorist activity.

Robert also played a central role in In re September 11th Litigation, Case No. 21-MC-97-AKH (S.D.N.Y.), litigation that involved more than 50 personal injury and wrongful death clients against the aviation and aviation security industries for their alleged failure to detect and prevent the 9/11 terrorist attacks. For both the 9/11 multidistrict terrorist financing litigation and 9/11 mass consolidations of the aviation security liability cases, Robert has appeared before the court for multiple hearings and oral arguments, directed and engaged in complex formal discovery, and managed informal investigative efforts involving, among other things, aviation security, designation of foreign terrorist individuals and entities, and elaborate webs of financial transactions.

In addition to traditional litigation efforts, Robert has provided substantial pro bono and other support to the survivors and families of those killed in the 9/11 attacks. From 2001-2004, he provided pro bono representation for more than 30 individuals, preparing and presenting their claims to the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund. Working with Motley Rice clients, legislators and leading experts in various industries, Robert also works to encourage legislative changes to help meet clients' goals of justice, accountability and positive social change.  He has represented victims of other terrorist attacks and human rights violations in litigation including Oran Almog v. Arab Bank, a landmark lawsuit filed by victims of terrorist bombings in Israel against Arab Bank for its alleged role in financing Hamas and other Israeli terrorist organizations and Krishanti v. Rajaratnum et al., 09-cv-5395 (D. N.J.), litigation against alleged financiers of the Tamil Tigers terrorist organization in Sri Lanka.

Representing Motley Rice clients in an array of other complex litigation matters, Robert worked on World Holdings LLC, v. The Federal Republic of Germany, a suit filed to collect unpaid pre-WWII German bonds. He has collaborated with members of the firm's Securities and Consumer Fraud practice group, litigating such cases as In re: MBNA Corp. Sec. Litig., No. 05-272 (D. Del.), and with the Motley Rice Environmental team to litigate cases brought by individuals and businesses suffering as a result of the BP oil spill in In re Oil Spill by the Oil Rig "Deepwater Horizon" in the Gulf of Mexico, on April 20, 2010.

Prior to joining Motley Rice in 2003, Robert developed a strong co-counsel relationship with Motley Rice attorneys through complex litigation involving corporate wrongdoing, including the State of New Jersey's tobacco lawsuit and other tobacco, asbestos and occupational disease and injury cases. Practicing product liability, toxic and mass tort, and occupational injury law, he represented individuals and union members injured by defective products or toxic substances and authored "The Hidden Truth About Asbestos Disease" in the New Jersey Law Journal (December 2002). He clerked with Judge Neil F. Deighan of the Appellate Division of the Superior Court of New Jersey in 1990.

Associations:

American Association for Justice
American Bar Association
New Jersey Association for Justice
, Past Chairman – Product Liability and Toxic Tort Section
Public Justice

* Please remember that every case is different. Any result we achieve for one client in one matter does not necessarily indicate similar results can be obtained for other clients.