

## THE NATIONAL ALLIANCE OF AFRICAN AMERICAN ATHLETES

A 501 c 3 Non-Profit Organization www.naaaa.com

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For Immediate Release

Contacts: Everette Pearsall 410-551-3462

### African American Scholar Athletes receive top Honors

Los Angeles, CA (January 6, 2010) – On **Saturday, February 20, 2010, at 6:00pm,** The National Alliance of African American Athletes (The Alliance) will recognize another stellar group of high school athletes from across the nation for the **Franklin D. Watkins Memorial Award**. The award is presented each year to the nation's top African American male high school scholar athlete.

The five finalists in alphabetical order are:

- \* Devin Gardner, Detroit, MI Devin received the Principal's Award his GPA, Assistant with the Police Athletic League, Volunteer for the Plymouth Educational Center, Under Armour All American, Ranked #2 Quarterback in the nation, All State Michigan and maintains a 3.4 GPA at Inkster High School.
- \* Eric Reid, Baton Rouge, LA Eric is the 2010 Student of the Year, Mentor to 6 Freshman, Member of Mt. Gillion Baptist Church, Voted the Most Intelligent Male, Assistant in the LSU Chemistry Lab, Gatorade Player of the Year, US Army All American, #1 Player in Louisiana, 1st Team All District/All Metro/&All Parish, and District MVP. Participates in basketball and football while maintaining a 4.7 GPA at Dutchtown High School.
- \* Evan Washington, Dallas, TX Evan is member of the DeSoto Student Council, a Volunteer for The Bridge Homeless Shelter, Volunteer for the Ellis Hobbs Special Olympics, Basketball First Team Academic, Basketball First Team All Region/All District, Football First Team All District, Max Prep All American, Offensive Player of the Year, Under Armour All American. Participates in Basketball and Football while maintaining a 3.9 GPA at DeSoto High School.
- \* Brandon Willis, Duncan, SC Brandon is a volunteer his local soup kitchens, Volunteer for Breast Cancer Awareness, and developed and run several local sports camps for local youth, South Carolina All Area, All Region, All State, #2 recruit in South Carolina, US Army All American. Participates in football while maintaining a 4.0 GPA at James F. Byrnes High School.
- \* David Yankey, Atlanta, GA David is a member of the PAL's Club (working with kids who have special needs), Student Venture, High School Campus Crusade for Christ, Volunteer at St. Francis soup kitchen, Scholar Honor roll his entire high school career, National Achievement Award, Received the Excaliber Award for Character, 3 Year Fulton All County Team, All State, Georgia All Star Team, and selected for the Max Emfinger Senior Bowl. He participates in football while maintaining a 4.0 GPA at Centennial High School.

PO Box 60743 Harrisburg, PA 17106-0743 717.234.6352 Tel 717.652.3207 Fax

# EXECUTIVE OFFICERS Executive Director J. Everette Pearsall

J. Everette Pearsall Everedy Consulting

Watkins Award Committee Chair Alexander L. Gabbin, Ph.D James Madison University

# EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Chairman of the Board

Darren Parr Goldberg, Persky & White, P.C

Vice Chair Kevin Clark Dell. Inc.

**Treasurer**Shannon Nash
Nash Management Group

Secretary
Andrea K. Warner
PA District Attorneys Assn.

Past Immediate Chair Reginald Grant eSportsInstruction

#### EXECUTIVE BOARD

Sharon Ransom IBM Corporation

Leland Stein United States Olympic Committee

Tyrone Tate Favrit Underwear

Paul Beltis Deloitte

Ron T. Peoples Peoples Financial Service

Edward Ransom Brunson Technical Inc.

Mombi Thairu RKE Sports

Marlon Kimpson Motley Rice LLC

Shari-lyn L. Gordon-Jackson Alpha Thought Global, Inc



PO Box 60743 Harrisburg, PA 17106-0743 717.234.6352 Tel 717.652.3207 Fax www.naaaa.com

# EXECUTIVE OFFICERS Executive Director

J. Everette Pearsall Everedy Consulting

Watkins Award Committee Chair

Alexander L. Gabbin, Ph.D James Madison University

# EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Chairman of the Board

Darren Parr Goldberg, Persky & White, P.C

Vice Chair Kevin Clark Dell. Inc.

Treasurer Shannon Nash

Nash Management Group

**Secretary**Andrea K. Warner
PA District Attorneys Assn.

Past Immediate Chair Reginald Grant eSportsInstruction

#### EXECUTIVE BOARD

Sharon Ransom IBM Corporation

Leland Stein United States Olympic Committee

Tyrone Tate Favrit Underwear

Paul Beltis Deloitte

Ron T. Peoples Peoples Financial Service

Edward Ransom Brunson Technical Inc.

Mombi Thairu RKE Sports

Marlon Kimpson Motley Rice LLC

Shari-lyn L. Gordon-Jackson Alpha Thought Global, Inc

### THE NATIONAL ALLIANCE OF AFRICAN AMERICAN ATHLETES

A 501 c 3 Non-Profit Organization www.naaaa.com

The Watkins Award ceremony will be held at the prestigious Marriott Hotel in Los Angeles, California.

"The 2010 Watkins Award features another year of fine student athletes," Everette Pearsall, Executive Director of The Alliance, shares. "Each of these young men is well equipped for success academically. We have continued to recognize and honor the premier African American Scholar Athletes in the United States."

Finalists are chosen based on their unweighted grade point average, their personal statements, extra curricular activities, community service, and letters of recommendation. Each winner will be recognized in Los Angeles, receive an award, ring, and dinner in their hometown.

Sponsors of this year's event include Presenting Sponsor Deloitte & Touche, LLP, Peoples Financial Services, Bacardi, Roscoe's Chicken and Waffles, Nash Management Group, Stephon Valentine Limos and Jostens Corporation who manufactures and donates the Watkins Award trophy and rings.

Media representatives are invited to cover the awards ceremony. For more information about the Watkins Award, The Alliance, or to get tickets for the awards ceremony visit our website at <a href="https://www.naaaa.com">www.naaaa.com</a> or email <a href="mailto:everedy@aol.com">everedy@aol.com</a>

###

The Watkins Award is presented annually to African American scholar-athletes since 1992, the Watkins Award is named for Franklin D. Watkins, the coach of championship football and basketball teams in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Previous awardees include Rhodes Scholar, Myron Rolle, Justin Blalock of the Atlanta Falcons, Ted Ginn Jr. of the Miami Dolphins, Lorenzo Alexander of the Washington Redskins, Mohammed Massaquoi of the Cleveland Browns, Darnell Dinkins of the New Orleans Saints, LaVarr Arrington of the New York Giants, Grant Irons and Ronald Curry formerly of the Oakland Raiders, Deryck Toles of the Indianapolis Colts, Marcedes Lewis of Jacksonville Jaguars, Ernie Sims of the Detroit Lions, and Darius Walker of the Houston Texans.

The National Alliance of African American Athletes was founded in 1989. The mission of The Alliance is to empower African American males through athletics, education and public programs.